Looking back at my December 2016

December 2016 has to be my favorite month of last year. I just felt that all the pressure on me for the last couple of months became less and everything just was so festive.

I made a special project for my niece that I was able to give her at just the right time. I was able to complete the 9 day night mass leading up to Christmas and I was able to spend time with the people I love.

This is an advent calendar I made for my niece. I worked the whole November just so I could give it to her on the very first of December. It’s quite big and the doors were pretty hard to open but she loved it. When she first got it she actually wanted to open all of it in one seating, so I had to hold on to it for 12 days just to make sure she does not hastily open all doors. I was really happy when she asked me if she could keep the box and I felt all the late nights I was working on it was all worth it.

SIMBANG GABI

dsc_0035
Mary Help of Christian Shrine

There is this tradition in our country called “Simbang Gabi” or Night Mass in english. This is a 9 consecutive day mass that leads up to Christmas which is celebrated originally at dawn. The 9 days signifies the 9 months Mary had to carry baby Jesus in her womb. Devotees try their very best to complete all 9 since they believe that if one completes it, your request will be fulfilled.

I wanted to make sure that I would complete the 9 days, not just for my petition but the experience that it had to offer. I was not disappointed, I loved hearing the homilies, watching the people with their families with little children trying their very best to stay awake through the whole mass. I saw groups of teenagers, just happy to be with their friends and excited in hopes that their prayers will be heard. A hope Jesus gave us when he came to this world and saved us.

Another thing that excites me is the fact that my significant other was able to attend it with me though he was not able to complete it, but the fact that he tried was all that mattered. During the Christmas Vigil my mom was able to come with me, even though it was crowded and a tad bit noisy. She is old and the fact that she stilled endured standing for an hour made me really proud of her and happy that she was there to spend that time with me.

TAGAYTAY TRIP – December 30, 2016

dsc_0013
Pink Sisters Convent in Tagaytay

Knowing that we will not be able to spend the New Year’s Eve together, me and my boyfriend decided to go on a short road trip to Tagaytay. Our first stop was at the Pink Sister’s Convent, which I did not really expect to be that pact with tourist. Though they highly encourage everyone to remain silent within the premise of the convent which I think helped a little to keep the place serene. When you look at it from the outside, the place looks small but there were enough places to explore.

Our next stop was Mushroom Burger for lunch, I had high expectation for this place since its been getting rave reviews online. There were tons of people once we got there and it took almost an hour for us to be called for our food. I think that made us slowly lose the excitement of eating there but at the same time you try to understand because of the volume of people that was ordering.

I had the Mushroom Sandwich which honestly was alright but nothing extraordinary but what I really loved was the mushroom fries. We also tried their spaghetti ad royal burger with gulaman. I’m still willing to try other foods in their menu but my first experience was a bit underwhelming.

dsc_0021

Tagaytay Picnic Grove

Our last stop is in Tagaytay Picnic Grove, we decided to sleep in the car first since I wasn’t really feeling well. We took advantage of the cool and fresh air we could get, so we opened up the car and slept. I did have a good rest and we decided to walked a little bit. We of course had to visit the taal view point, and it was truly beautiful.

We did stay longer, we just had a few walks then left. If I can share just a few thoughts: We visited very popular places in Tagaytay and it saddened me to see the state some of them were in. As much as its the responsibility of the staff, of every place we visited to maintain it, I feel like as visitors we also have to be respectful of the places we go to. I see tons of garbage laying everywhere, people peeing wherever they want and vandalizing certain areas. We have to take pride of this tourist areas as our own.

Anyway, I hope that did not sound too preachy. So, this are the things that made my December 2016 memorable. Do you have a favorite month last year? What made it memorable for you?

 

Leave a Reply

